Sunday, September 21, 2008

Marion Brown: Le Temps Fou

Marion Brown: Le Temps Fou Polydor 658142 (France)


1. Le Temps Fou 5:24
2. Cascatelles (Phillips) 5:31
3. Song For Serge And Helle 6:39
4. Boat Rock 4:59
5. Ye Ye 6:08
6. En Arricre 11:31


Ambrose Jackson, trumpet, percussion;
Marion Brown, alto saxophone, bells;
Gunter Hampel, vibraphone, bass clarinet, percussion;
Barre Phillips, bass, percussion;
Steve McCall, drums;
Alain Corneau, percussion on 6

recorded September 1968, Studio Davout, Paris

A film soundtrack composed by Marion Brown, with the exception of the track "Cascatelles". It's pretty standard late-1960s Marion Brown - which means if you're a fan, you'll be pleased to find this. The music stands up quite nicely - there aren't any tracks that would qualify as incidental music or filler. The tune "Boat Rock" is a bit of an oddity in that it is more of a rock tune, with jazz instrumentation.

Enjoy another of the jazz underground's grails!

Download Le Temps Fou.